Friday 7 February 2020

John Axelrod and Simone Rubino

Virtuosity in action! Maestro John Axelrod and percussion virtuoso Simone Rubino, together with la Verdi, on Friday 7th and Sunday 9th will perform "Eternal Rhythm", a concert whose program ranges from Romanticism to the present day:

LISZT Orpheus
DORMAN Eternal Rhythm
WAGNER Tristan and Isolde (symphonic version)

Tuesday 4 February 2020

ANDREA LUCCHESINI playing at La Scala

on 4 February ANDREA LUCCHESINI will play at La Scala the Brahms piano concerto nr. 1 with  La Scala Academy Orchestra, conducted by LORENZO VIOTTI  in a charity concert for the Francesca Rava N.P.H Italia Onlus Organization, 20 years after its foundation. An extraordinary evening together young musicians to support the activities of a humanitarian organization supporting children all over the world and especially in Haiti.

Monday 27 January 2020

John Axelrod

John Axelrod was awarded the SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD by the International Classical Music Awards (ICMA):
"John Axelrod is a highly imaginative and dynamic musician, whose rich musicological background and historical insights combine with intellectual drive and charismatic enthusiasm for people and for life, to get probing, rigorous and richly characterised interpretations. One of John Axelrod’s strengths is the energy he brings to live performances, based on his conviction that each opportunity to make music is a chance to bring about a better world."

Monday 20 January 2020


Maestro Tito Ceccherini returns on the podium of Orchestra della Toscana for two concerts in Arezzo and Firenze, on January 21 and 22. Program:
DVOŘÁK Suite ceca op.39
MARCO LENA Concerto per violino e orchestra, in memoria di Andrea Tacchi – Classici di oggi *
MOZART Sinfonia n.38 K.504 Praga

More info

Friday 20 December 2019


“From the moving and intense tearing of the trumpets at the beginning of Tchaikovsky 4th Symphony, John Axelrod made the music breathe by leaning on a superb gradation of the sound planes, which was achieved favorably by the extraordinary orchestral forces . The American conductor knew how to balance the weight of the sections and also concentrated especially on highlighting the prominence of the bass strings. There were details throughout the symphony of his way of working. […] The orchestra responded with complete satisfaction, sounding with dazzling roundness and presence in all its sections. In the very delicate Andantino, for example, the bass strings (yes, again) became real velvet. The Scherzo sounded with the required lightness, with no trace of mannerism, and in the Finale, in which the fortissimo bursts were always under control, the tensions ended up being resolved in a dazzling display (similar to that of the first movement), with a pulse and dynamism that had something of a Furtwänglerian quality. On November 30th, John Axelrod officially ceased to be artistic director of the ROSS. It will be very difficult to find a replacement for his artistic stature.”

Diario de Sevilla, Pablo J. Vayón - 20 Diciembre, 2019

Friday 13 December 2019


Maestro Tito Ceccherini debuts on the podium of Bilkent Symphony Orchestra, in Ankara, Saturday, December 14. Program:
A. Webern | Passacaglia, Op.1
M. Bruch | Violin Concerto No.1
R. Strauss | Tod und Verklärung, Op.24

Thursday 12 December 2019

Jaume Santonja

Jaume Santonja is for the first time on the podium of the Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano LaVerdi. The program includes Tchaikovsky's The sleeping Beauty.

Concerts on December 12 (20h30), 13 (20h) and 15 (16h).

At his second season as Assistant Conductor of the world-renowned City of Birmingham Symphony, he recently got a great success on his debuts with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the RTVE Orchestra of Madrid as well as in his first subscription concert with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

Saturday 7 December 2019

John Axelrod

Maestro John Axelrod returns on the podium of Filarmonica della Scala on December 9 and 11. Program: 

BERNSTEIN Candide, Ouverture and Danze Sinfoniche from West Side Story

DVORAK Sinfonia n°9 in mi min. op.95 “Dal Nuovo Mondo”