Thursday 20 February 2020

Stanislav Kochanovsky

Successful debut for Stanislav Kochanovsky with the Israel Philharmonic:

"It was with this well-known work that Russian conductor Stanislav Kochanovsky began his masterful performance on Saturday evening as he led the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra in a crisp, delightful exploration of the tragic composer. This was the first time Kochanovsky performed here and one can only hope he’ll return again and again. His presence on the stage is electric and the relation he seems to have with the musicians is uncanny: a gesture, and the music swells, a flicker, and it rises, with controlled, precise movement and without a hair out of place."


Wednesday 19 February 2020

Daniel Smith

Congratulations to Daniel Smith on his nomination for Best Conductor at the upcoming 37th Green Room Awards after 'Viaggio a Reims' with Opera Australia. Congratulations to all the other nominees and to everyone involved with this beautiful production directed by Damiano Michieletto, which has also been nominated for Best Lighting, Set and Costume Design, Best Musical Achievement for the Ensemble Cast, Best Direction and Best Production.

Friday 7 February 2020

John Axelrod and Simone Rubino

Virtuosity in action! Maestro John Axelrod and percussion virtuoso Simone Rubino, together with la Verdi, on Friday 7th and Sunday 9th will perform "Eternal Rhythm", a concert whose program ranges from Romanticism to the present day:

LISZT Orpheus
DORMAN Eternal Rhythm
WAGNER Tristan and Isolde (symphonic version)

Tuesday 4 February 2020

ANDREA LUCCHESINI playing at La Scala

on 4 February ANDREA LUCCHESINI will play at La Scala the Brahms piano concerto nr. 1 with  La Scala Academy Orchestra, conducted by LORENZO VIOTTI  in a charity concert for the Francesca Rava N.P.H Italia Onlus Organization, 20 years after its foundation. An extraordinary evening together young musicians to support the activities of a humanitarian organization supporting children all over the world and especially in Haiti.

Monday 27 January 2020

John Axelrod

John Axelrod was awarded the SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD by the International Classical Music Awards (ICMA):
"John Axelrod is a highly imaginative and dynamic musician, whose rich musicological background and historical insights combine with intellectual drive and charismatic enthusiasm for people and for life, to get probing, rigorous and richly characterised interpretations. One of John Axelrod’s strengths is the energy he brings to live performances, based on his conviction that each opportunity to make music is a chance to bring about a better world."

Monday 20 January 2020

Davide Giusti

The young Italian lyric tenor Davide Giusti is receiving great acclaim as Rodolfo in the new production of La Bohème at the Theater Basel, staged by Daniel Kramer:

The poet Rodolfo is sung by the Italian tenor Davide Giusti. His performance as an actor in body language, facial expressions and gestures is only surpassed by his voice. His interpretation of Rodolfo is convincing in every respect. From the tender "Che gelida manina" to the outcry in the fourth act, one can feel his devotion to Puccini's work. One can also say that the singer Davide Giusti is the poet Rodolfo, this role lives! His intonation and diction are beyond any doubt. Der Openfreund, Peter Heuberger, 15.12.2019

Davide Giusti is an experienced Rodolfo. He manages to express the changing feelings of his role with a confident and clear voice. Das Opernmagazin, Marco Stücklin

All roles are excellently cast in Basel, the expressive, radiantly blossoming voices of the lovers Mimi and Rodolfo stand out., Laura Weidacher

Upcoming performances:
27 January 2020
16, 18, 20, 24 February 2020
8, 15, 21, 28 March 2020
1, 15, 18, 25, 30 April 2020
2 May 2020